Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Name of Resource

SA8000® Standard


Guidance on policy / legislation implementation

Country / jurisdiction



Social Accountability International

Date of publishing

June 2014


The SA8000® Standard is a social certification standard for factories and organizations across the globe. SA8000 measures social performance in eight areas important to social accountability in workplaces, anchored by a management system element that drives continuous improvement in all areas of the Standard. The Standard reflects labour provisions contained within the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and International Labour Organization conventions. It also respects, complements and supports national labour laws around the world, and currently helps secure ethical working conditions for two million workers.

The elements of the SA8000® Standard are: Child labour; forced or compulsory labour; health and safety; freedom of association and right to collective bargaining; discrimination; disciplinary practices; working hours; remuneration; and management system.